How To Watch 2023 Cricket World Cup In New Zealand

Are you looking for advice on how to watch the 2023 cricket world cup in New Zealand then you’re in the right place.

Like most of the events featured on Ki-wi we’re starting early so you’re fully prepared for the tournament.

Go to the instructions or scroll down.

What is the Cricket World Cup?

The Cricket World Cup, or the ICC (International Cricket Committee) Cricket World Cup, is the world cup event of One Day International (ODI) cricket.

ODI is a form of cricket with a fixed number of overs, usually 50, and played by teams of international status.

Like the Football World Cup, the Cricket World Cup is held every 4 years. It is an event open to all member countries of the ICC. The first Cricket World Cup was held in England, in 1975, which was won by the West Indies Cricket Team.

The next tournament is scheduled for 2023, in Mumbai India.

watch cricket world cup nz

Cricket World Cup Overview

Qualification for the event, as mentioned previously, is available to all members of the ICC. However, the highest-ranking teams receive automatic qualification, whereas the others must compete in preliminary qualification tournaments, in the World Cricket League and ICC World Cup Qualifier.

More specifically, the Test playing nations automatically qualify, while the non-Test nations must compete for their spot in the tournament.

The format of the event is subject to consistent changes, and often does so from event to event. For example, the 1999 and 2003 World Cups split the competitors into two pools, with the top 3 from each playing against each other in a ‘Super 6’.

This format had not been used previously, nor has it been used since. The following event in 2007 involved splitting the 16 competing teams into groups of 4, and the top 2 of each advancing into the ‘Super 8’.

The changing formats are often the result of distinctions between the number of competing teams.

Unlike the 2007 event’s 16 participating teams, the 2019 World Cup had only 10 competitors, and thus the format utilised was a standard round robin format.

Winning The Cricket World Cup

Victors of the World Cup receive the ICC Cricket Trophy, which has been the permanent token handed to the winners since 1999. Prior to this, trophies of different types were distributed.

At 11 kilograms and 60 centimetres tall, the ICC Cricket Trophy is marked by three distinct columns, each representing the fundamentals of cricket; bowling, batting and fielding.

The original trophy is held by the ICC, and instead a replica is the prize given to the winner.

The most successful nation in the event’s history is Australia, who have won the event 5 times of its 11 occurrences.

Following this are India, winning the event twice, and England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka each claiming victory only once. The 2019 event was won by England.

Why Cricket World Cup Is So Popular?

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the most prestigious and watched sporting events in the world.

The 2011 event was watched from over 200 countries worldwide, totaling 2.2 billion television viewers, and television rights to the event upwards of $1 billion. Physical attendees are also noticeable, with the 2007 event boasting nearly 700,000 ticket sales.

Attributed to the popularity of the event is its ODI format, which leads to quicker and more exciting games more appealing to the less die hard fans, in contrast to the long and grueling test matches.

Watch Cricket World Cup NZ

The next event will be held in Mumbai, India, in 2023. It’s going to be huge, given the cricket loving nation has over a billion people!

While you might not be there, you can definitely watch all the action here in New Zealand.

Date: 9th February – 26th March 2023

Teams: 10 in total, qualification by super league.

NZ: Sky Sports

Australia: Foxtel / Kayo

UK: Sky Sports

India: Star Sports / Hotstar

We don’t know for sure what the best option to watch the Cricket World Cup 2023 is until earlier to the tournament. Right now it’s likely the games will be streamed free to air in India which probably means they’ll be streamed online too.

Stay tuned and we’ll update you as soon as we know.